The sports world moves to the rhythm of the CACSO / CACSO Sports Administration Seminar

(Saturday, August 8, 2020) The I Seminar on Sports Administration of the Central American and Caribbean Sports Organization CACSO has been widely accepted throughout the American continent and even in countries in Europe and Asia.

More than 1500 people from 47 countries around the world have signed up for this new initiative that seeks to connect, train and teach nations about the Olympic movement through the intervention of sports leaders from CACSO, Panam Sports and National Olympic Committees from all over America.

The expectations held by Luis Mejia, CACSO’s President and from Eduardo Álvarez, Secretary General of the organization and also Chair of the Education Commission, have been positively overcome. In principle, it was calculated that the seminar would be given for 1000 people, a figure that fell short when there was still a week left to start.

Even so, both sports leaders have extended the invitation to those who want to participate, ensuring that this seminar is available not only for leaders, coaches or those directly involved in the sport; it is also open to everyone who wants to learn about sport.

“We are giving those interested in sports the opportunity. That is the main characteristic of this seminar, which has content and a varied agenda that will change from time to time because sport is very broad, “said President Mejia.

The adaptation of CACSO to the digital present has also been an accomplishment and one of the reasons for the successful registration of this first seminar.

“We have done a lot of promotion of this virtual activity so that everyone has the possibility to register and receive all the information we offer in the seminar,” commented the person in charge of this initiative, Eduardo Álvarez.

On Tuesday, August 11, starting at 2:20 pm Venezuela and Dominican Republic time / 1:20 pm Mexico time, the seminar will begin with the words of President Luis Mejia.  Next, Keith Joseph from Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Lorena Novoa and Fabio Ramirez from Colombia, will be the experts who will complete the first day of teachings.

Number of Registered by country

Argentina 20, Aruba 3, Bahamas 3, Barbados 6, Belize 4, Bermuda 1, Bolivia 20, Bonaire 1, Bosnia and Herzegovina 2, Brazil 1, British Virgin Islands 2, Canada 1, Cayman Islands 2, Chile 19, Colombia 200 , Costa Rica 23, Cuba 8, Curacao 2, Ecuador 25, El Salvador 36, Spain 5, United States 12, Ghana 1, Guadeloupe 3, Grenada 1, Guyana 3, Guatemala 69, Haiti 5, Honduras 17, Jamaica 2, Mexico 186, Nicaragua 49, Panamá 85, Paraguay 1, Peru 55, Poland 1, Puerto Rico 36, Qatar 2, Santa Lucia 1, Dominican Republic 156, St Kitts And Nevis 1, US Virgin Islands 3, St. Vincent and the Grenadines 2, Trinidad And Tobago 1, Suriname 1, Venezuela 492, Uruguay 3.

Total: 1572

Schedule of activities

Tuesday, August 11:

2:20 pm, Venezuela and Dominican Republic time / 1:20 pm Mexico

          Welcoming remarks

          Luis Mejía Oviedo, CACSO President (DOM)

2:45 pm, Venezuela and Dominican Republic / 1:45 pm Mexico

          Structure of the Olympic Movement,

          Keith Joseph (Saint Vincent and the Grenadines)

3:40 pm Venezuela and Dominican Republic time / 2:40 pm Mexico time

          Management of the Environment of Olympic Sports Organizations: Legal aspects

          Lorena Novoa (Colombia)

4:30 pm Venezuela and Dominican Republic time / 3:30 pm Mexico time

         Basic principles in the Organization of Sporting Events

         Fabio Ramirez (Colombia)

Wednesday, August 12:

2:00 pm, Venezuela and Dominican Republic time / 1:00 pm Mexico time

        Values, Ethics in Sport and the Olympic Charter

        Christopher Samudia (Jamaica) and Guillermo González (Colombia)

2:45 pm, Venezuela and Dominican Republic time / 1:45 pm Mexico time

         Women in the Olympic Movement

         Nicole Hoeverstsz   IOC Member (Aruba)

3:30 pm, Venezuela and Dominican Republic time / 2:30 pm Mexico time

        Strategic Planning

        Salman Brache (DOM)

4:15 pm, Venezuela and Dominican Republic time / 3:15 pm Mexico time

         Events of the Olympic Cycle

         Mario Cilentti (Argentina)

Thursday, August 13:

2:00 pm, Venezuela and Dominican Republic time / 1:00 pm Mexico time

         Communication and Information Technology in Sports

          Alejandro Goycoolea (Panam Sports)

2:45 pm, Venezuela and Dominican Republic time / 1:45 pm Mexico time

         Structure and Operation of the NOCs

        Sara Rosario, (Puerto Rico)

3:30 pm, Venezuela and Dominican Republic time / 2:30 pm Mexico time

         Leadership in Sports Organizations,

         Brian Lewis, Caribbean Association of National Olympic Committees (CANOC)

4:15 pm, Venezuela and Dominican Republic time / 3:15 pm Mexico time

        Sports Marketing

         Jimena Saldaña (México) and Jackie Guerra (México)

Deja un comentario